Deutsche Bank


European Union Regulatory Background

Under European Union law, banks and investment firms are required to obtain authorization from their relevant supervisory authority in order to carry out regulated banking and investment service activities.

Within the European Economic Area (“EEA”), authorization to undertake these activities is obtained from the supervisory authority of the country where a bank has its head office (the “home state authority”). In some cases the home state authority will comprise more than one supervisory authority.

The home state authority is responsible for supervising banks’ systems and controls, their financial adequacy and their overall conduct. In addition, the home state authority is responsible for investor compensation and depositor protection schemes.

Banks may offer banking and investment services in other EEA member states (known as “host states”) under a so-called “European Passport”.

This passport, which specifies permitted activities, is granted by the home state authority. The presence of such a bank in the host state – provided it is not a separate legal entity from the bank – is referred to as a “branch” (under Article 4(3) of the Banking Consolidation Directive (Recast) (2006/48/EC)).

EEA member state supervisory authorities are required to maintain public registers of banks authorized to carry out activities in their jurisdiction.

A host state authority will rely on the home state authority to ensure that the systems, controls and financial adequacy of a bank are in good order. To the extent that activities are carried out within its jurisdiction, the host state authority supervises the conduct of banks. This includes, for example, rules on treating clients fairly and rules governing a bank’s conduct in the securities market.

Corporate and Regulatory Disclosures

Deutsche Bank Group

Deutsche Bank Group comprises Deutsche Bank Aktiengesellschaft (“Deutsche Bank AG” or “the Bank”), together with its subsidiaries. The Bank and those subsidiaries are authorized and/or regulated by regulatory authorities in their country of incorporation as well as, in some instances, by regulatory authorities in other jurisdictions. The Bank’s subsidiaries include banks, securities companies and financial services providers.

About Deutsche Bank AG

The following links will take you to corporate and regulatory disclosures relating to selected Deutsche Bank Group subsidiaries registered and/or incorporated in the European Union:
Czech Republic
United Kingdom

The following links will bring you to corporate and regulatory disclosures for selected Deutsche Bank Group subsidiaries in:


Deutsche Bank AG Copenhagen Branch, Filial af Deutsche Bank AG, Tyskland,
Havnegade 39,
1058 Copenhagen K,

CVR-NR 33049447,

Phone number: +45 8830 8899,

Fax number: +45 8830 3391,

Branch of Deutsche Bank Aktiengesellschaft domiciled in Frankfurt am Main; HRB No 30 000 • Frankfurt am Main, Local Court

Footer Navigation:
Last Update: September 10, 2015
Copyright © 2015 Deutsche Bank AG, Frankfurt am Main