The Season Opening Concert of the Berliner Philharmoniker was broadcast here live and for free.

To experience future live broadcasts of the Berliner Philharmoniker or to explore an extensive collection of archived concerts, we would like to invite you now to the Digital Concert Hall. You can also watch there interviews of artists and conductors as well as movies and documentaries about the orchestra.

For almost 25 years, Deutsche Bank and the Berliner Philharmoniker have enjoyed a close partnership. Together, they enable innovative initiatives with the common goal of providing access to classical music to people from all walks of life.

Sir Simon Rattle conducts Stravinsky and Rachmaninov

They were contemporaries and compatriots – and yet, they hardly could have been more different: Igor Stravinsky, who took the world by storm with his colourful, overwhelming ballet music and the melancholic Sergei Rachmaninov, who is considered by many as being “the last romantic”. To start off the season 2014/2015, Sir Simon Rattle and the Berliner Philharmoniker present Rachmaninov’s Fourth Symphony – the Symphonic Dances op. 45 who wistfully say goodbye to the romantic musical era – and Igor Stravinsky’s brilliant Firebird-music, dazzling in all conceivable orchestral hues.

25 years of shared passion for music

This year, Deutsche Bank and the Berliner Philharmoniker celebrate the 25th anniversary of their close cooperation. What started 1989 has evolved into a dynamic and innovative cooperation.

Working towards the goal of making classical music accessible to a large audience, Deutsche Bank and the Berliner Philharmoniker join forces to make possible groundbreaking initiatives such as the Education-Programme of the Orchestra and the unique Digital Concert Hall. This virtual concert hall makes the Philharmonie of Berlin accessible to music lovers worldwide. In brilliant sound and visual quality, fans of classical music can witness performances live on the internet – every time and everywhere.

The programme

Sergei Rachmaninov –
Symphonic Dances op. 45

Igor Stravinsky –
L’Oiseau de feu (The Firebird) ballet music

DCH Video

Milestones from 25 years of successful partnership between Deutsche Bank and Berliner Philharmoniker

Video sample and technical prerequisites

With the help of this gratis video, you can easily and quickly test free of charge whether your computer and your internet connection are suitable for accessing the Digital Concert Hall. We hope you will have a magnificent concert experience with the Berliner Philharmoniker.